Monday, December 23, 2013

Steampunk Gatling Gun Review

Yes, you heard that right.  A Steampunk Gatling gun! This product comes straight from LaBoutiqueVapeur's Etsy shop, where I also found some other unique Steampunk weapons and lighting fixtures.

At $1,650.00, I think it's a bit out of my price range, but is fun to look at nonetheless.  It weighs 30 Ibs and contains mostly copper and brass parts.  A sewing machine makes up much of the body, which has moving parts that are fun to fiddle with.

About the barrel, the vendor said, "The barrel does not spin, non-firing, and the gauge is authentic, but decoration only. Orange tips at end of barrel are for weapon posting rules only...will be removed before shipping."

In my opinion, this shop is a fresh sight after all of the etsy vendors that have popped up in recent years selling Nerf guns that have been spray painted to look like copper and brass.  La Boutique Vapeur uses all real copper, brass, and antique parts, which is surely a factor in their price tag.

Trevor's Rating of the Steampunk Gatling Gun: 92% (For an awesome weapon that is, unfortunately for my pocketbook, too expensive.)

Sunday, December 22, 2013

Steampunk Lightsaber Review

Steampunk LightsaberI couldn't pass this one up.  The Etsy vendor SynnSilver has created a work of art in his rendition of the classic lightsaber, with a steampunk twist.  The vendor is a Special FX artist, which explains the craftsmanship in the design.

Unfortunately, according to the vendor, it will not kill clones or toast your bread as you slice it.  Therefore, my rating of this product will reflect that inadequacy...

I think this would be a great cosplay item for conventions.  While at Comic-Con 2013 I saw several handmade lightsaber hilts, and this one ranks up there with some of the best.  If anyone has made one of their own, I'd love to see it!  Please post a link to a picture in the comments and I'll feature it in my next post.

Trevor's Rating of the Steampunk Lightsaber: 80% (For a good effort that would look good in cosplay, but one that will not kill clones...wtf?).

Sunday, August 11, 2013

Steampunk Cybermen Mask Review

I ran across these beauties today while browsing etsy's geekery section.  Avid Doctor Who fans will immediately recognize the classic cybermen helmet.  These look to be of high quality and the seller certainly took the time to get the detailing right. 

Seller Notes: "Available for a very limited time, the dreaded Cyberman has been recreated as a battle-scarred denizen of the Age of Steam! Perfect for lovers (or indeed, mortal enemies) of the Doctor, or those with for an affinity with all things punk, this fully functional voice-changer helmet with LED light-up mouth can be worn or displayed."

Later, the seller notes that if you plan to wear the mask as cosplay, you should put some padding in it...That would have to be my one gripe with this listing.  You're already paying $127.37 for this product, I would kind of expect the seller to spend a couple bucks to put the padding in there for you.  Maybe that's just me...

Overall, this appears to be a quality product with the potential to impress at any Con.

Steam Rating: 89% (Just put some padding in it!  You know whoever buys it is going to be wearing it around all the time anyway!)

Friday, August 9, 2013

More Adventures from Comic-Con 2013!

Steampunk Link and Zelda

Comic-Con 2013 has come and passed, but my memories of it live on!  Here are two more pictures from Comic-Con.  The first features a Steampunk Link and Zelda cosplayed by two very nice people.  We were standing in line waiting for the HIMYM and Syfy panels near each other and I talked to the girl cosplaying Zelda for a bit.  Her friend made their costumes, but the guy insisted it be known that he made his boots by himself.  The costumes were really well done and were not something I had seen done before, so props to them!

I found one more picture from the League of S.T.E.A.M. booth, where this Steampunk enthusiast used his handy (no pun intended) device to hand out flyers for their webshow and performing group.  It was great to see them live and in character after having watched their webshow.  If I ever get a chance I'll definitely check out one of their live performances.  Unfortunately for me, they're based near L.A., so the chances of me seeing them live is about the same as my chances for getting into another Comic-Con.  (I was hovering over my keyboard at 9:00:00 and was number #40,000 out of 130,000 when I clicked exactly on the hour.  It was a stroke of luck that got my brother and myself 4 day passes).  Comic-Con is definitely something every geek and nerd of any fandom should experience at least once.  There are booths and exhibits dedicated to Steampunk, Comics, Anime, TV, Video Games, Films, and just about anything else you can think of.
Another Goldie from the League of S.T.E.A.M.

This year, however, was the most crowded year ever.  I might try going to a less crowded Con in the future, solely because Comic-Con has just about outgrown the San Diego Convention Center.  However, if you enjoy waking up at 4 AM and getting in line for Hall H before 5AM, only to be in the very back of the room because thousands of people camped out overnight, be my guest.  It was certainly an experience I will always cherish and never forget; but, it isn't likely I'll go again.  I might try a small Steampunk convention next time.  I think Steampunk as a genre isn't meant to be on the scale of Comic-Con.  What do you think?  Is Steampunk meant to remain niche and tightly knit?  Or, should it spread its wings and cross over even more into the mainstream than it already is?

Wednesday, August 7, 2013

Jet Pack/Time Machine Review

It's that time again, for another review of stuff I find on Etsy from the Steampunk persuasion.  This time, I found a Steampunk Jet Pack that doubles as a Time Machine.  At a price of $699.00 this item is sure to work...for real.  Aethertech is the seller, and they had some interesting things to say about their product.

"It has a range of about five years if fully fueled. If one wishes to survive the trip through the temporal rift and hence the condensed lumeniferous aether, it is advised to employ both ocular protection and breathing apparatus. If properly fueled prior to transit, adequately protected during transit, and operated by an Aethertech Industries certified precognitive psychic, this device is guaranteed not to kill you our your money back!

Though the original device was engineered before Aethertech Industries received a charter, the design has been improved greatly since then. It burns aether ore, a curious material that simultaneously exists and does not exist. The source of aether ore is a closely guarded secret of Aethertech Industries and the Aether Brigade. One must refuel from a certified Aethertech Industries Supply Depot and Semi-rigid Dirigible Docking Station."


Sounds like a steal!  I do wish the Jet Pack looked a little more robust.  As it stands, it looks like it belongs at a tea party rather than in the hands of an adventurer.  I was thinking something that looks more like the Jet Pack from the Rocketeer would make for a more practical and fun experience.

Trevor's Rating of the Steampunk Jetpack: 84% (For a nice effort at a Jet Pack/Time Machine that only falls short in its lack of a robust appearance).

Sunday, August 4, 2013

League of S.T.E.A.M. Review

Hello all! On my recent trip to Comic-Con, I ran into some of the performers from the acclaimed web series League of S.T.E.A.M.!  I was able to talk to them a bit and loved interacting with the various characters of the show.  Haven't heard of League of S.T.E.A.M yet?  Here's a bit about who they are:

(From the League of S.T.E.A.M. website) "Our talented group of inventors and actors take the audience back to a time of scientific adventure; a common ground between the paranormal and the Pythagorean. We are monster hunters from the Victorian era. From up on the stage to mingling the crowd, our members engage the audience with proton packs capable of firing blasts of “steam,” zombie manservants on chain-leads, net guns and titillating electro-shock packs and ethereal glowing ghosts. Every piece of machinery is meticulously designed, detailed, and fully functional, from the steam cannon to the extendable “Punchy Fist”. The League travels with an archive of past adventures, preserved and documented for the ambient pleasure of the viewer, featuring exotic specimens and chilling relics from the ancient Orient. Audiences for this extravagant experience continue to grow. The League of S.T.E.A.M. is one of the fastest-growing entertainment groups of its kind, and our series of filmed exploits has ensured us a popularity that fills our events to capacity."

One of my favorite videos from their website is "Dead End."  It's the first video that pops up when you enter their site.   Be sure to check out their videos and events!  I had a great time at Comic-Con this year and the personalities at the League of S.T.E.A.M. helped make it a memorable experience.  Stay tuned for more posts about the Con and what other Steampunk wonders I stumbled upon!

Sunday, April 14, 2013

Steampunk Gear Organizer

This ornate box is actually a transformer.  It opens up to reveal an array of hidden boxes within boxes to store and organize anything you wish (provided it is small enough to fit of course).  It is the third such box put out by ReviveGifts.  

Seller's Description:
"She's back and prettier than ever! This Organizer is perfect for sorting clock gears, sewing notions, jewelry, or anything you can think of!  This is the Third Steampunk Gear Organizer Puzzle Box we've made. Each unique in their decorations and embellishments.  This one has Vintage Jewelry Filigree 'mushroom' with Vintage Watch Face and movable Dial Hands. Two hooks to hang chains from, and detailed embellishments including a wide handle for the bottom drawer with an imbedded watch movement.

Organizer has 6 divided sections in the top, plus 4 fold out sorting trays, and a large bottom drawer, as well as a wooden handle on top.

Box is 8 1/2" by 6 1/2" by 5" when closed."

Trevor's rating of the Steampunk Gear Organizer: 79% (worth a look)

Saturday, April 13, 2013

Steampunk in Oxford

This youtube video provides a fairly simplified explanation of Steampunk for the uninformed.

Friday, April 12, 2013

Thursday, April 11, 2013

Steampunk Light Up Bottles

These cool bottles are filled with various forces which are commonplace in the collection of a serious steampunker.

Seller's Description:
"Our new line of "Once Upon a Fantasy" bottles are pure magic held in your hands. Simply twist the top to ignite the bottle in shimmering light!

Bottles look amazing in the day light and glow brilliantly in pure darkness. Whether adorning a shelf in your home, hanging from your satchel at a convention or part of your painstakingly chosen outfit to the biggest rave of your life these awesome little bottles will let you carry their magic!

Each bottle is attentively hand assembled. Each is a little different. Light runs on a triple button cell battery that is replaceable. Comes with factory battery that lasts about 8 hours. Bottles are wearable!!! Leather loop makes them easy to slip onto your belt or hook onto your pants."

These would look great attached to a belt or perhaps some contraption that utilizes the fascinating power of steam or the elusive force known as Antimatter.  Visit LiveSteamy for more details.

Trevor's Rating of Steampunk Light Up Bottles: 87%

Wednesday, April 10, 2013

Steampunk Goggles

These Steampunk Goggles are perfect for the serious Steampunker who requires quality materials and care in their accessories.  At $160, these goggles are not cheap enough for the casual wearer.  The Etsy Seller, SteampunkCorporation, has a number of unique, handmade versions of this product to check out at their shop.

Seller Notes:
"Whatever you do in the post apocalyptic age, be it Airship Captain, Lady Adventurer, Sky Pirate or Victorian Gentleman Engineer, steampunk goggles are a necessity. Complete with range finder graduated lenses to enable the gentleman or lady explorer to estimate distances and precisely target objects these goggles are similar to our original eyewear, but feature a unique brass 'telescope' on the left eye, essential for those yearning to see the world beyond their immediate horizon."

Though there are cheaper models on Etsy, few match the quality and look of SteampunkCorporation's work.

Trevor's Rating of Steampunk Goggles: 94%

Tuesday, April 9, 2013

Steampunk Industrial Lamp

Edison Lamp
This is a reproduction of an industrial architect's lamp from approximately the 1950s.  The twisted pair wire is truly vintage, adding a little something to the overall look and feel of the lamp.

The Seller (Timberson) notes: "One of the things that sets this table light apart is the vintage style cloth-covered wire I use. Take a good look at the pictures and you'll see that both the copper and red color of the wire add a striking element to the overall piece... yet doesn't take anything away. Sure, the lamp is the focus, but you'll never want to hide the cord because it dresses this light up."

The lamp would be perfect for a classic steampunk study, complete with leather-bound books and displayed oddities from the world over.

What do you think of this Industrial Architect's Lamp?  Will you let it light your room?

Trevor's Rating of the Steampunk Industrial Lamp: 85%
What is your rating?

Monday, April 8, 2013

Steampunk Teapot

Imagine drinking tea aboard an airship, soaring through the clouds on a ship powered by aether.  richardsymonsart has created this ornamental (note: not functional) steampunk teapot for your viewing pleasure.  This classic piece would look great in a steampunker's collection.  The level of detail is quite impressive.

Seller notes:
"Please note that although I will make them in the same style as the one shown they will all be unique and different.

These are unique one off sculpture and no two are the same. a machanical teapot marvel

it measures 8 inches, 20cm tall"

I'm very glad I stumbled upon this artist, as his work is stunning.  If you like this piece, check out his steampunk piggy bank or Techno Mask, also great works of art.

Trevor's Rating of the Steampunk Teapot: 89%

Sunday, April 7, 2013

Steampunk Mechanical "Winner" Watch

Winner Watch
I was doing some research on steampunk watches and found this brand on Etsy.  Winner Watches is a Chinese company, much like Caifu (which I've mentioned in a previous post).  Their watches are generally pretty cheap to buy and from positive customer reviews, it seems they hold up just fine.

However, I've seen a number of Etsy shop owners selling "Winner" watches for well over $100.  Some of these shops declare that they are "handmade in the Pacific Northwest."  The only difference I see in these watches is that they added a thicker leather band.  The core of the watch remains the same.  So I say buyer beware.  You can get a "Winner" watch for well under $50 and assemble a band separately for far less than the Etsy retailers charge.  This is an Etsy shop owner that sells direct from Hong Kong.  The watches are generally under $30 and look great. 

The moral of this story: when an item states "handmade," you should also conduct your own research.  If not, you may end up paying $119 for the watch below, versus $29.99 for the watch above.
Winner Watch

Trevor's Rating of "Winner" watches: 90%
Trevor's Rating of Etsy Opportunists: 9.2%

Saturday, April 6, 2013

Steampunk Robot Arm Gauntlet

SkinzNhydez
You could become the proud owner of a robot arm, custom made by Etsy seller SkinzNhydez.  In just around a month, he will take your ideas and arm specifications and craft this steamy gauntlet just for you.  At the price tag of $2100, it is no small investment, but the workmanship speaks for itself.

The maker, Ian Finch-Field, states that his gauntlets are made with:
8oz Veggie tanned Leather
Brass sheet
Rivets
Studs
LED light
Odds and Ends
Dyes and Finishers to give it that well worn and aged effect.

I need a lot of people to click my ads before I can afford one of these, but it will definitely remain on my list.  What do you think of this item?  Comment below!

Trevor's Rating of the Robot Arm Gauntlet: 92%

Friday, April 5, 2013

Tinque Designs

Deep Roy
Photo by Christine Solomon
Check out Tinque Designs!  Based in Oceanside, CA, this designer has amassed a following in all things steampunk.

Seller's Description:
"Once upon a time...there was a tinkerer of sorts, a gatherer of bottom-drawer-trinkets and a cannibalizer of forgotten treasures... and the result was steampunk couture."

Follow Tinque on Facebook, Pinterest, and Twitter.  You can also visit their official website.

Hats off to Tinque for the photo shoot with Deep Roy, one of my favorite under-known actors. The guy is 4' 4" and has appeared in a ton of movies in small roles.
Alyson Melrose
Photo by Christine Solomon

If you're in the area, you can find Tinque products at Dr. Watson's Steampunk Odditorium or Rebel Rebel Hair Salon, both in Oceanside, CA.  If not, Tinque has a large selection online at their website and on Etsy.

I'm really liking all of their products, especially the ones relating to airship and sky pirate fashion.  What do you think?  Leave a comment below!

Thursday, April 4, 2013

Steampunk Felt Robot Plush Doll

Robot Plush Doll
Some people steal all the creativity for themselves.  The seller describes this piece as "...about 4 inches tall sitting, not including hat. It is made of premium wool felt, cotton embroidery floss and poly-fil. His eyes are made from vintage buttons. His vest and hat have lots of embroidered details including French knots."

At $30 this unique Plush Doll is a steal.   I especially like the gold strips on his chest.  I'm told they are made of real gold.  (false)

For some reason, the robot reminds me of the street urchin robot from Futurama.  I'm crossing my fingers the seller will make a Steampunk Bender Plush Doll.

Trevor's Rating of the Steampunk Robot Plush Doll: 88%

Wednesday, April 3, 2013

Steampunk Plasma Teleportation Device

Plasma teleportation
Imagine being whisked away to magical places, like...Delaware...

In all seriousness, the manufacturer states this device is "our most marvellous invention to date, one that even Telsa himself would be proud of. A teleportation device which can transport the user distances of up to 500 yards!"  So, the only way you'd be transported to Delaware is if you're already within 500 yards of Delaware.  Which would suck any way you look at it.

Apparently, "The device has a 99.7% chance of turning the user inside out on re-assembly through teleportation. Teleport at your own risk!"  Something about rearranging my matter doesn't sound appealing to me.  Fortunately, at $130, I can't spare the cash for that fun ride.  Perhaps you want to take a spin?  Visit Etsy to find out how.

Trevor's Rating of the Steampunk Plasma Teleportation Device: 80%

Steampunk Iron Man Helmet!

Steampunk Iron Man
Nerd Alert!  This full-sized, adult Iron Man helmet is not only weathered, but battle-damaged!  I can't think of a better way to usher in the release of Iron Man 3 than arriving at the theater wearing this.  At $200 it's not exactly an instant buy for the casual cosplay enthusiast, but for a die hard fan it's certainly doable.

With the previews of Iron Man 3 showing the utter destruction of many of the suits, this helmet is even more appropriate.  If anyone decides to buy it, please comment and send me a picture!  I'll be at Comic-Con this July and it would be cool to see it walking around on someone's head.

Trevor's Rating of the Steampunk Iron Man Helmet: 86%